August 15, 2026 03:22 am (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Ajit Doval breaks silence on Operation Sindoor in Discovery’s explosive new docuseries | Rahul Gandhi's 'mock hug' taunt sparks row; Centre stresses 'mutual respect' with Italy | Delhi on high alert: Bomb threat to High Court, airport and multiple locations ahead of I-Day | ‘Who are they to interfere?’: CJI Surya Kant slams Bar Council of India over NALSAR students’ enrolment row | 'Shows how low Congress has sunk': BJP slams Rahul Gandhi over Modi foreign policy jibe | From guns to glamour: Former women Maoists walk the ramp in Chhattisgarh | Netaji row: Suvendu Adhikari govt strips BJP MP Anant Maharaj of state honour | Sukhbir Badal attacked by Nihang Sikh with kirpan at Maharashtra gurdwara; assailant detained | ‘If you cannot do it, we will pass an order’: Supreme Court’s final warning to Centre on food labels | ‘Time to move on’: Bombay HC sends strong message in Vijay Mallya-bank dispute
WhatsApp

WhatsApp's new feature allows users to undo 'delete for me' option

| @indiablooms | Dec 20, 2022, at 09:25 pm

WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature allowing users to restore a deleted message. The undo option will be available when a person chooses “delete for me” instead of  “delete for everyone” while erasing a message in a chat.

It will be known as “accidental delete” and will provide users a window of 5 seconds to undo their decision to delete a message for themselves and enable them to delete the message for everyone subsequently.

The Meta-owned company said the option will now be available to all users on Android and iOS.

WhatsApp took to Twitter to announce the same and said, "'Delete for Me' We've all been there, but now you can UNDO when you accidentally delete a message for you that you meant to delete for everyone!"

Prior to the launch, WhatsApp ran beta testing in August and some Android and iOS users participated in it, according to WhatsApp feature tracker WABetaInfo

Time-to-time the instant messaging app has introduced various privacy features and options to allow users to be in more control.

Earlier, users could delete a wrongly sent message within one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds time frame.

Then features like exiting group chats without notifying anyone, controlling who can see you are online, and preventing screenshots on view once messages gave more power to users.

Users can also prevent people from adding them to WhatsApp groups without their permission by choosing the option under privacy features.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.